Change > Regret {Life Lately}

Hi everyone! So much has happened since the last time I posted. Some changes were more expected than others.

Super expected & planned for: I packed up my Tallahassee home and moved into my tiny house on Wednesday! The whole process was very fast paced. Matt and I packed up my third floor apartment and loaded it into a Uhaul all by ourselves. Talk about an intense workout! We drove the four hour route to my new apartment and unpacked all within the same day.image1

Kinda expected: I haven’t wanted to really workout at all since the move. I had to run about a mile and half home from dropping off the Uhaul, but other than that I’ve been more drawn to leisurely walks. My body has been so worn and sore. I’m letting myself rest as much as I need, for now, but I’m also excited to get back into a workout routine.

Kinda expected: Between not wanting to buy groceries before the big move and going to farewell dinners with all of my Tallahassee friends and co-workers, I’ve been eating out more frequently than usual. I’ve wanted to just enjoy my time with the people around me, so I haven’t been beating myself up over it. I’ve been trying to make”wiser” choices while eating out though, still avoiding buttery and fried foods.image3

Not at all expected: My mental and emotional stability have been, well, not stable. I’ve been emotional and really disconnected. Although I knew I’d be emotional moving away from my nieces, this type of emotion has been deep, dark and consuming. After taking some time for myself, I realized that one underlying condition for why I’ve felt so anxious and confused is because of my eating. Telling myself no; telling myself “You can’t have that or this or this”; eating around people and feeling restricted; feeling the urge to eat out rather than cook because cooking isn’t fun anymore.. It’s been hard. Cooking and making healthy eating an enjoyable habit has been a huge part of me for so long, but it has recently turned into a chore. So, I’ve been eating more intuitively. AKA eating turkey sandwiches and wasabi ranch seasoned pea crisps, because telling myself these things are “bad” have made me want them even more. But, this will be a whole separate post, another day.image2

With so much going on, it has been so important for me to focus on myself and what feels right. Rest, fellowship and an at-ease mind have trumped spreading myself too thin, feeling lonely in a group of people and judging myself for not being able to label myself anything other than “human.”


Have you ever experienced a series of big life changes in a short amount of time?

Do you tend to beat yourself up when you get “off track” your normal routine?

Simply, Sum

Leave a Reply

